Journey to Excellence Award for All scouts

> > > Triple Prizes < < < 

Journey to Excellence   Journey to Excellence Award   Scout Award

"Scouting’s Journey to Excellence" is the BSA’s council performance recognition program designed to encourage and reward success and measure the performance of units, districts, and councils. It replaces the Centennial Quality Awards program as a means of encouraging excellence in providing a quality program at all levels of the BSA.

Starting in January 2011, a new quality program called Journey to Excellence (JTE or sometimes J2E) has become the new national performance assessment, communication, and recognition program for units, as well as for councils and districts.

Many additional details are available on the BSA page.

The award patch is displayed on the uniform's right sleeve below the patrol emblem or den numeral. Only the most recent year's patch is worn, not a string of past year patches.

journey to excellence gold
journey to excellence silver
journey to excellence bronze

The Journey to Excellence program provides:

See BSA Info page for award details, forms, and FAQ pages.

Did you try it and like it?             Or hate it?
Click a thumb to vote:              

 Apr 04, 2014 - Tyler Villegas
I was just wondering, because I can't find information on this elsewhere.  Where should the pin be placed? I know that the patch goes on the left sleeve, but what about the pin? Are we allowed to wear both the pin and the patch at the same time?
Apr 04, 2014 - Scouter Paul
@Tyler - There is no specific guidance in the current Insignia Guide for placement of the lapel pin.  But, all other lapel pins of which I'm aware are intended for "civilian wear" - meaning they are not displayed on the BSA uniform.  The patch does the job on the uniform so there is no need to also wear the pin.
(There is an Order of the Arrow Lodge JTE pin which is displayed on the lodge flap, but that is just for OA members.)
Apr 11, 2014 - Jeff
Does both Cub Scouts and Cub Leaders where the patch?
Apr 11, 2014 - Scouter Paul
@Jeff - Yes.

Follow Me, Boys

Recent Comments
Nick Anastasi on Clothespin Tag game
Scouter Paul on Belt Loops
Ed Mattina on Belt Loops
Scouter Paul on Cycling MB
Adria Williams on Cycling MB
Kristin on Elephant Joke
HappyHitchhiker on Arrow of Light
Scouter Paul on Arrow of Light
Scouter Paul on Arrow of Light
HappyHitchhiker on Arrow of Light
More Comments...

Contest   -   Ask a Question   -   Add Content   -   scout software

This site is not officially associated with the Boy Scouts of America
listeria testingscout software
Boy Scouts  
Boy Scout Trail
Cub Scouts
Boy Scouts
My Blog

Group Games
Merit Badges
SM Minutes
Pen Pals

Online Tests
Our Schedule
Our Progress


Shop 4 Stuff
Privacy Policy
ICRA labeled

Find more Scouting Resources at
This site is not officially associated with the Boy Scouts of America
Boy Scout Trail Home Bobcat Tiger Cub Scout Wolf Cub Scout Bear Cub Scout Webelos Boy Scout Tenderfoot Scout 2nd Class Scout 1st Class Scout Star Scout Life Scout Eagle Scout